ANNNNDD Breathe……

Wowsers what a week!

Started on Friday with a trip to Hill House showjumping. We were transported by a local company NR Equine who were lovely and helped me stay calm before jumping! Parker hasnt ever been in an indoor school so this could have gone either way, as it turned out he was such a cool dude and we jumped three clears and even managed to win the 90cm. I noticed with interest the difference in horses between the showjumpers and the eventers (there were a few out!) The eventers tended to be slower and more careful in some rounds I was 3-4 seconds slower than the winners so I suppose something I need to work on would be to work on speed!!!

100_0171

On the pilates front I have joined a class and am going weekly and finding it RIDICULOUSLY hard! The teacher found it very funny how physically fit and strong I am but at the same time how weak my core muscles are! We were performing a move where you lie face down, your arms are stretched out above your head ,and lift up your upper body and I just couldn’t do it!! However I have found my back pain has lessened for a few days after the class so I’m hoping as my body continues to get stronger the pain will stay away!

Parker and I became proud owners of a beautiful Kent and Masters Dressage saddle this week and we took it to Sheepgate to test ride it whilst filming January’s E-Dressage video. I have to admit that I wasn’t entirely happy with either of us we seemed to butt heads quite a bit. I have been think about my riding a lot recently and have come to the conclusion that I am currently at a threshold in my learning.

4stages_learningI am currently very critical of myself and my riding, particularly on the flat. I keep thinking I should be able to do this move better than that and this is affecting my actual ability to ride. Using the four stages of learning model I think im hovering between stage 2 and 3. I look back on my riding a year ago and cringe at my riding as I thought at the time it was brilliant. I realised today how important it is to video regularly as its a great tool for self reflection, and although I wish I was amazing it has helped me to realise how far me and Parker have come and how with practise and dedication hopefully in another year’s time I can look back on videos from now and think wow what a difference.

This week I’ve also found time to spend with the other man in my life! We travelled to Hull and had a wonderful meal at the Michelin starred restaurant the Pipe and Glass and then stayed the night at dog friendly B&B the Boxtree house. Both were amazing and come highly recommended! I have to say I left Yorkshire slightly heavier to say the least. “Sorry Parker!” I think its good to sometimes get away from my horsey life and remind myself that there is a life away from jodhpurs and mud which has helped me relax and be ready to get back to it!

Last on my list this week was a quick jaunt back to Hill Hose to meet Lisa Smith an eventer from ‘p north’ who was holding an arena XC clinic. It was a fantastic experience once again I was told to stop riding so dressage and had to shorten up my reins and have them much more out in front of me. Although the jump height was not huge we worked in approaches to skinnies and corners and how to find a line and jump through a awkward grid of jumps. I was very happy with Parkers work ethic and was so happy with his fitness, we could have carried on for another hour given half a chance.  Lisa seemed to like him telling me that he was intelligent and could work out a lot of the stuff for himself and to stop interfering so much! Looking back on the videos much of our jumping is a bit rough and I got left behind a few times but Parker was bold and had a go at everything!

12650831_10204380647311108_5237192297459765657_n

So thats me done for a while. I’m going back to work to earn some pennies to pay for Parker the money eating machine! (I’m a little skint now!) Oasby has opened so it’s time to enter my first event of the season!

Leave a Reply

