Back on track

Suddenly I have become obsessed with Dressage again, helps that there are some great competitions to take part in. I have never taken part in any competitions that have qualifiers and finals so I’m extremely excited to have got through to the UK Riders Final at Arena UK in August. I have attempted a few Novice tests in the last month so I’m hoping that by competing at Novice when we do the UK Riders Final which I qualified at Prelim level we will find it a little easier. I entered a Novice test this month with E-dressage (watch here). As I have received over 70% three times so would go into the Open section in Prelim which is the E-dressages way of kindly pushing you to move up the levels! I have also entered a few tests with the mane show including a prelim test, novice test and a prix caprilli which was a fun mixture of jumping and dressage!

 

I decided that I should get Parker a new bridle as his current bridle doesnt fit him very well. The nose band moves about a lot and the head piece is so badly designed. I was recommeneded that I buy him a Micklem as for so many people it has been a magical transformation but turns our Parker isn’t like other horses and hated it, in fact he hated it so much our dressage scores went down almost 10%. Although he looked more secure in his outline due to the nature of the micklem it seemed to be a fake outline as he wasn’t using his back properly and started picking up the wrong canter leads and having little tantrums. I can’t put my finger on it completely but I think he didn’t like how well fitted the whole design was so we went back to the drawing board and bought him an Albion with a crank noseband which has made him so much happier and our dressage is back to normal!

So because everything was getting a little serious recently competing every week in dressage I took Parker to Adult Gymkhana at Kenwick with North Lincs riding club. I was put in a great team who didn’t mind that Parker thought the mugs and flags were going to kill him and that maybe he wasn’t as fast as the zippy ponies and best of all we won! Definitely the best way to de-stress!

It was my birthday recently and like a kid with their first pony I got my mum to buy me lots of matchy matchy things so me and Parker can look super all of which we wore to go to Field Farm to have a little play on their cross country course. After that and most importantly we went on the beach which has been on my bucket list for so long! Bless Parker he was so brave and really tried to take on the waves which were ok when we were in deep up to his belly but when we were in the shallows he kept running away from the waves when they came in and out. We had a lovely gallop up and down the beach which made me feel hopeful that during our next event we shouldnt get any time faults!



Parker was very excited to take part in Pony Club Camp this year as he clearly still believes he’s a pony. Parkers Physio Sarah Harris came and helped the Pony CLub members paint Parkers muscles on him and then we lunged him over some jumps to learn about equine atatomy.

Most excitely I have two events planned and paid for so im trying to get ready for Frickley and Shelford!!!

Leave a Reply

